Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Corbin Unit Lock Disassembly

Hello, all. I'm primarily a safe and vault technician these days, but one of my local locksmith customers asked me for help with this lock. It needs to be disassembled and rekeyed. Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9937.jpeg 
Views:	14 
Size:	114.8 KB 
ID:	21997Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9938.jpeg 
Views:	28 
Size:	116.8 KB 
ID:	21998

Quote Originally Posted by Shieldr View Post
    Hello, all. I'm primarily a safe and vault technician these days, but one of my local locksmith customers asked me for help with this lock. It needs to be disassembled and rekeyed. Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    That's an ancient one, but presuming it's P & F Corbin or Russwin; the Corbin Russwin UT5200 Parts and Service Manual may be of some help, see especially pgs. 34-46:
    http://www.corbin-russwin-hardware.com/Parts_UT5200.pdf

Pete Schifferli

Hi Pschiffe! Long time no see! Not much action over at LC these days.

That link's a great resource, but I suspect even the oldest style might not cover the lock we have here. I was able to find an old catalog that seems to show the same lock mechanism (pages 427 and 428), but no tips on how to disassemble it.

https://archive.org/details/CatalogN...ware/page/n491

Good to see you're still around!

Quote Originally Posted by Shieldr View Post
    Hi Pschiffe! Long time no see! Not much action over at LC these days.

That link's a great resource, but I suspect even the oldest style might not cover the lock we have here. I was able to find an old catalog that seems to show the same lock mechanism (pages 427 and 428), but no tips on how to disassemble it.
    https://archive.org/details/CatalogN...ware/page/n491
    Good to see you're still around!