Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Pittsburg Safe Co

Just joined the forum. It has a wealth of information.

Picked up an old floor safe from Craigslist for $30. Made by Pittsburg Safe Co. That is Pittsburg without the H. That is an important clue about its age. Pittsburgh (without the H) was only spelled that way between 1891 and 1911. I can find no info about the company. I believe the safe had been broken into. The combination lock was gone, the handle that moves the locking bar was broken off and the shaft was twisted. Someone put a lot of torque on that shaft.

I am a machinist and have a pretty extensive home shop with 3 lathes, 2 milling machines, 3 drill presses, 2 grinders, shaper and can make just about anything. I plan to abandon the combo lock set up and use a rim cylinder with a garage door dead bolt. I have made a few safes with this locking mechanism and it has worked out quite well. I already have a Medeco rim cylinder that I plan to use.

Stripped the safe down and started to machine pieces for mounting the deadbolt. Will need to make a new shaft for the locking bar. Should be able to show some more progress on the locking mechanism by the weekend.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails safe1.jpg   safe2.1.jpg   safe2.jpg   safe.jpg   3010632.JPG  

8-16-08 001.jpg   3 shop.JPG   5 shop.JPG   P1010546.JPG  
    Last edited by billygoat; 24-05-17 at 02:09 PM.

Nice, loving the workshop, thought you were a collector of beam trolleys until I saw the size of some of the chucks 8-) , you need them.

Welcome billygoat, great workshop I can't imagine having that much space to play with!

Started working on the door. Bolted on a 2"x2" block of steel for mounting the dead bolt. Milled a pocket for it. I was surprised that the cast iron was so hard.

Trolleys are a necessity. The 15" Buck chuck for the 20" lathe weighs 240 lbs.