Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Seeking information on antique US ? padlock and key, please

Thanks to the team for inviting me to this forum; I greatly appreciate it. I have a padlock that appears to be antique with a key marked "Pat. Jan. 7, 1873. There are no other visible marks. It has been in my family for more than 50 years but I'm no expert, and would greatly appreciate the input from the community as to 1) whether it is antique 2) the manufacturer and 3) what it might be worth. The key opens the lock even though it is bent. Would you recommend that I try to have someone unbend the key, or leave well enough alone? I'm afraid it might break off! Attached are some photos of the lock and key. Many thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_3295.JPG   IMG_3299.JPG   IMG_3296.JPG  

It's a smokehouse padlock. It's not my area of expertise though, so hopefully someone else can chime in with more info.

Default Ref: my query about the padlock

BigTreeKeys: Many thanks for your quick reply. Don't know what a smokehouse padlock is, but will look it up! Can you tell by the photos, please, if the lock is an antique, which I believe to be so?

A minor curiosity: on January 7, 1873, there were 234 patents issued but none of them are in classification 70 (locks).

Default Ref: my query about the padlock

--so, does that mean this is probably a fake or could there just be a gap in the records or mistake on the date of the key?

Quote Originally Posted by wylk View Post
    A minor curiosity: on January 7, 1873, there were 234 patents issued but none of them are in classification 70 (locks).

Does seem a bit strange, sallyk, are you able to upload some larger close-up photos? Compared to the padlocks heavily aged and corroded body, the detailed brass escutcheon appears remarkably intact and unworn.