Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Opening a locked Vault

Im a development project manager. We have a 1930s Vault in our building. It's in NYC - lower Manhattan. It's been locked for 30 years. Would anyone on this website have a referral for some one who could come to the site and provide a quote to open it? Door is 7' high by 4' wide. Looking for a proffesional who has opened vaults beforel. We dont want to remove it - just open it and remove ability to lock it. My thought is that going through the adjacent wall would be cheaper.

I don't know anyone to recommend but one approach is the Safe & Vault Technician's Association (http://www.savta.org). Their web site includes a search function, http://www.savta.org/savta_tech.php which comes up with several possibilities.

Default Vault door opening.

With a picture of the door I can provide you my fee to open the door without damage. There are many types of vault construction and vault doors so I could not even begin to speculate. A full frontal view of the door and frame, and a clear close up of the dial/s will be sufficient.

It's not always less expensive or easier to core the wall as opposed to drill the door. This link will take you to a discussion about the difference between coring the wall or drilling the door. http://www.antique-locks.com/showthr...ht=coring+wall

If it's a bank vault and future use of the vault maybe needed, in my opinion drilling the door will better preserve the value a vault brings to the building. There is also the possibility to open the door without coring the wall or drilling the door.

DH

See attached - there is some kind of electronic box to the right not sure if this is an alarm or an electronic opener upgrade.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.JPG   2.JPG   3.JPG   4.JPG  

That's a rather nice door. Are the shaped handles wooden?