Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Default Complete Novice bought a storefront that had some antiques in it

Hi, I don't know anything about keys or locks or antiques, either. Except that I love history and am fascinated by engineering. I just moved from Seattle to Maine and purchased a building built in 1796 that has housed an antique store. Along with the purchase came a beautiful antique trunk. I don't have a picture of the trunk right now but this is the lock.

I don't even know what kind of key that would take...a barrel key? I hate to be so ignorant, but I've searched the web and I can't find any good tutorials about locks. Hopefully you'll look kindly on my lack of knowledge and help me out. Thanks

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails lock.jpg  

Quote Originally Posted by anngonzalez View Post
    Hi, I don't know anything about keys or locks or antiques, either. Except that I love history and am fascinated by engineering. I just moved from Seattle to Maine and purchased a building built in 1796 that has housed an antique store. Along with the purchase came a beautiful antique trunk. I don't have a picture of the trunk right now but this is the lock.

I don't even know what kind of key that would take...a barrel key? I hate to be so ignorant, but I've searched the web and I can't find any good tutorials about locks. Hopefully you'll look kindly on my lack of knowledge and help me out. Thanks