Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Need help with identifying safe

Thank an you for allowing me to join your site. I am a locksmith and Chief Deputy Sheriff and was contacted by a widow lady that has a safe that on,y her husband opened and now has been dead since 2013. She want to open the safe and provided me with a three digit combination and some hand written instructions that she said her late husband had written. I said should be no problem well after two hours of trying the said combination and direction we still do not have the safe open. He had wrote on the card Gardall Safe Combination and she said they had bought an old bank building in Frankewing Tennessee several years ago and the safe was in it. I am not convinced it is a Gardall safe and what he wrote as far as directions are even accurate. I found one that looks like it on your site and it is a Cary Safe double door. I am going to try and attach a picture of the safe in question on hopes you may have some guidance for us before we have to destroy this antique to get it open. One more thing the safe was stolen from the bank once and the thieves destroyed one door and the bank had to send it in for a new door so it also has a unique history although she said it has not been opened since 2013. Thank you. Tommy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpeg  

What an amazing story Tommy, the large double-door safe was actually stolen from the bank! Amazing that you're a locksmith and a sheriff, although the 'Chief Deputy' bit seems confusing..

Quote Originally Posted by MaxVaultage View Post
    What an amazing story Tommy, the large double-door safe was actually stolen from the bank! Amazing that you're a locksmith and a sheriff, although the 'Chief Deputy' bit seems confusing..