Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Thread: Pad Locks

Default Pad Locks

What are the best pad locks out there. Or is there any pad locks out there that can not be cut with bolt cutters.

Quote Originally Posted by arielschoenberg View Post
    What are the best pad locks out there. Or is there any pad locks out there that can not be cut with bolt cutters.
    There are many excellent padlocks on the market. As a locksmith I recommend Abus, they offer a full line of padlocks for various applications in many price ranges. One of their most secure is the 83/80 S2 Rock, described as the ultimate heavy duty, steel-bodied padlock which has a 3-1/4" wide hardened steel body and a 9/16" dia. hardened steel shackle. MSRP is $132.00 ea., see image attached:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	536140d872f5e7a78123f487da9d441f.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	10.6 KB 
ID:	14188
    For an excellent general purpose padlock, I recommend their versatile 83 Series 2, my favorite is the 83/45 S2 which retails for $31.90, see pdf at the link:
    http://www.abus.com/us/content/download/23715/633803/file/20141007%20ABUS%2083%20Brochure.pdf

Pete Schifferli

Quote Originally Posted by arielschoenberg View Post
    In continuation, I have an interesting anecdote regarding Abus. I'm told that some years ago, the fire department in a nearby city asked locksmiths to stop selling Abus as they could not be defeated with their 48" bolt cutters! Regrettably I don't recall the specific model(s) in question.

While the Abus 83 Series 2 I recommended in my previous post are excellent for industrial and institutional applications, there are more competitively priced models which are suitable for general use. A local school district has hundreds of 55/40 1-1/2" economy brass padlocks keyed alike which retail for $9.45 ea. that they find satisfactory for minimum security applications.