Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Exclamation Antique complicated padlock

Hello

This is my first post here so excuse me if i'm not following entirely the forums rules (please amend if so).
    I have no knowledge about padlocks, keys nor anything about locksmith, so don't mind the user name. My passion is for watches actually.
    I found this community while i was searching today on the internet info on a vintage, odd lock.
    I found it on a weekend fair. Considering my passion, to my eye, was more then a chunk of metal. It is quite heavy and large, and probably made by iron. I did not take the time to measure or weight it yet. To my metal knowledge, that should put it before 1920's-1930's, if it's not a fake, of course.
    It has a clock dial and a hour hand that may be part of the mechanism, and possibly a hidden key whole through the trap between the colonnades. The sad thing is that it did not came with a key.
    The only mark (possibly makers mark) found is: TOTD, nothing else.

But enough with description. Find pictures attached:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	L87T0W.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	296.7 KB 
ID:	14130
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E5WU6O.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	290.7 KB 
ID:	14131

I would like to ask if someone can estimate age, if it can be opened without damaging the mechanism and if it worth anything.

Regards
    /F

Default Trick padlock

Just to update this old thread:

In the mean time, i was able to open the trap but not the lock, in lack of a key. It looks nice and pretty much sophisticated but i haven't deciphered it yet, neither i found any more information about the name or the provenance. A saxon friend said that it could be of saxon / german provenance due to the name but nothing else.

A nice weekend to all members!
    /F

Default Possibly a viennese padlock ?