Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Default Newbie with a Milners Safe query

Hi I am new to the world of forums, having never posted in one before.
    I came across the site while trying to research a safe I've just bought.
    I would love to find out more about my safe such as its age and model etc.
    It's a Milners and bares the serial number 153535. The key has the same number on it with a 'C' at the top of the key ring loop.
    All corners are square so I'm thinking its pre 1890 (from what I've read). Attached is a photo of the safe in its current condition.
    I've now taken the safe to my local Metalworks. It's due for stripping and sand blasting and gloss black powder coat.

The brass will be polished and re fitted, really looking forward to having it back.

One other thing I would love to find out, is what the logo/info should have been on the inside of the door. Sadly the safe has been painted (badly) inside and no logo/info is left in there. During the restoration, the inside of the safe will be blasted and repainted. I would love to find out what should be on the inside of the door and maybe even source a reproduction of what should be there. can anyone help with this?

Any info or history about my safe will be greatly received.

Thanks in advance
    Danny
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  

Hello Dannyb, yes your Milners is probably pre 1890s with its square corner construction. There are members who have old records and old catalogues so hopefully someone can narrow it down further for you.