Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Odd P&F Corbin lock and key Key info needed.

Hi, New kid here. I have a key operated electric switch that I need some info on. Most important I want to get a couple more keys made.

This is a porcelain case switch by H&H probably about 1920 or so. It is fitted with a P&F Corbin cylinder and key. The key is small (about the size of a modern pad lock key). It is cut for 3 pins. It is marked HH61 I would like to find out what blank it is. I am a mechanical designer so I am a bit anal. I have modeled the key in 3D CAD so I can tell any dimensions that would help ID it. also I have pictures of just the key

I collect antique electrical stuff and now that I know about these keyed switches I will be looking for more.

I don't want to ruin my welcome so I will start with just one picture. If anyone would like more, please let me know.

Thanks.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lock switch 2.JPG 
Views:	58 
Size:	305.7 KB 
ID:	13279

Lots of people stopping by so I figured I should post a pix of the key.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Corbin Key.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	13280

Quote Originally Posted by fdew View Post
    Lots of people stopping by so I figured I should post a pix of the key.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Corbin Key.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	13280
    I believe that is the old P & F Corbin S1-26-3. CCL Security Products, succesor to Corbin Cabinet Lock Co.; shows the original S1-26-3 blank in their 2014 Product Catalog & Price List, indicating limited quantities available; @ $1.00 ea. MSRP. Duplicates could also be made by shortening an Ilco X1001KC which is a 5-pin blank. Very similar switch locks are still made by Arrow Hart's successor, Cooper Wiring Devices; using pin tumbler locks supplied by CCL.

Pete Schifferli