Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Default Diebold lock parts help

Good morning - i am also a newbie to your sight - have been reading hear for a few weeks and feel i am ready to try a post. Most of the time i can work w/ these locks until satisfied but having some problems on a old diebold lock - not sure if it is a peerless / eagle or what. For you pros you may feel this is a dumb question but here we go
    1) what are the holes in the cover - through the discs and into the main housing for.
    2) what is the brass plate for in the bottom of the housing as shown in the last photo
    3) my drum that the discs turn on is in very poor condition - can it be replaced and does anyone have one?

Thank you for the time and help invested in this sight ron
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_3141.JPG   100_3143.JPG  

The hole in the lock cover, that also runs through each wheel & into the lock casing are for the change key, which allows the combination of the lock to be changed.

The lock is dialled to align the holes in the wheels with the hole in the lock cover. Most key change locks have a second index marked on the dial ring & alignment of the change key holes in the wheels with each other & the change key hole in the lock's cover is achieved by dialling the combination using this second index mark.

A change key (specific to the model of lock) is inserted & turned through 90 degrees. This disengages the outer section of each wheel from its inner section. A new combination is then dialled, again to the change key index.

Then the change key is turned back through 90 degrees in the opposite direction, which re engages the inner and outer sections of each wheel, and the change key is removed.