Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 1823 Jail Lock- NE United States

Does anyone have a photo and any background history of 1823 jail locks? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Greg

PS- I posted this reproduction is it close??
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails jail padlock.jpg  

I am no expert on padlocks- I avoid them like the plague for precisely this reason. But I suspect this is modern lock produced in India, and aged through urine (and other methods). The fact it conveniently comes with two keys makes me view it with suspicion. There are numerous similar looking locks on Ebay, some claiming to be from Alcatraz or San Quentin. Others claiming to be Pauly Jail locks. I collect rim or jamb mounted Prison locks because the cost of making a convincing forgery would far exceed their going selling price (which is about $150 to $200 with a working key). But I could be wrong- I don't collect padlocks- Greg Wiley Prison Lock Collector

I think understand what you are referring to now. You are referring to the reforms of British Prison of the 1823 Penal Act.

There is a 1824 Chubb lock on their webpage that may have been inspired by these reforms:
    20140206 1
    http://chubbarchive.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/page8.html

Otherwise I am not sure what you mean by 1823 lock

I am inclined to agree with Gmanphotog that the padlock is relatively modern (perhaps mid-20th century). I have one nearly identical in shape, rivet positions, etc. Although it isn't marked "Made in India," there are several things that suggest this such as a misspelling - GUARENTED. Also, the maker is not honest when he inscribes 10 levers on the keyhole cover. I can't see an American or British company being able to get away with this. Below are 2 photos of my padlock. I do have to admit it's solidly constructed.

Oop! I didn't post the picdtures. Here they are.