Welcome to our world exploring the Historical, Political and Technological aspects of Locks, Keys and Safes

Default Fake/counterfeit Good Luck padlock

I've been buying and collecting padlocks for over 40 years now and I thought I could tell a fake a mile away, well this past week I got duped big time. I'm making this post to make you all aware of the latest fake/counterfeit lock on the market. The lock in question is a Good Luck horseshoe padlock that was origionally made by the Slaymaker lock company. I picked this up on ebay and the seller never claimed that it was an origional or 100 years old or any other missleading statement, only that it was an old working lock with an origional working key. The pictures on the listing weren't real close up or highly detailed, which didn't help, but at the time I never suspected it to be a fake. Upon receipt of my lock, I started to have second thoughts. This lock looks like it was brand new. There was absolutely no nicks, dents, or scratches on it anywhere!